Love, Laugh, Learn, Teach–Homeschool Diaries

Home » Children » Shakespeare Begins the School Year

Shakespeare Begins the School Year

Ah, Shakespeare. I love Shakespeare, always have. Some of his plays I like better than others, but still, the Early Modern English language grips me every time. So we started with Hamlet. This is my all time favorite play of Shakespeare. I was even granted the opportunity to go and see it performed at the Alabama Shakespeare Theatre in Montgomery, AL when I was a junior in high school. It was the best field trip I had ever been on.

I would love to go back some time in the future. I may suggest it to our homeschool group. That would be something the kids would never forget.

We began Hamlet today. For them to not ever have read anything in Early Modern English, they actually did fairly well. After we finished the selected reading my son said, “Mom, my tongue is broken.” That made me laugh. At least now they know our English language has not always been what they have heard in their lives. Happy trails!

~Beth

Leave a Reply

