Love, Laugh, Learn, Teach–Homeschool Diaries

Home » Uncategorized » High School Here We Come

High School Here We Come

And . . . Done. Our 2015-2016 school year has ended. Next year . . . High School. I am not as nervous as I was. I am actually excited about it. The only bad thing is it means my children are growing up. Sigh. That is the way of life.

I now have a son who can get behind the wheel. He got his learner’s permit yesterday. I am so proud of him! It was rather nerve-wracking. We walked into the DMV and there were several people there. Might have been five there to get their license or permit. The rest were trying to get their license reinstated, and I have honestly never heard so much foul language fly out of mouths of those who were waiting with those trying to get their license reinstated. At least until the State Trooper walked back in,  everything seemed to stay silent after that.

Whew! Glad that is over. I have two more years before I have to go back so my daughter can get hers. Needless to say, yesterday was adventurous. 🙂

Now back to High School next year. I have their science we will be doing–Biology. We are going to continue with the Writer’s Choice English Grammar Program. Just have to find the ninth grade book. Working on our reading list for next year too–Shakespeare, Tennessee Williams, Edgar Alan Poe. A couple of books planned for next year are The Outsiders and I Know What You Did Last Summer.

We will start Algebra next year–did Pre-algebra this year. Oh, by the way, those of you, who are probably like me in thinking I can’t teach algebra. Think again. As you teach it, you will remember it. If you don’t understand it, you learn with your children. It was probably the best experience this year in our subject-areas! And yes, I really mean that!

Until we meet again!

~Beth

Leave a Reply

