Love, Laugh, Learn, Teach–Homeschool Diaries

Home » Children » Why???

Why???

We began homeschooling for the freedom of education and to give our children the best possible way to learn. Why? We know how our children learn best and we can also give them the personal attention they need. That is why we began homeschooling.

Public education disappointed us. They swept our children under the carpet because they were not troublemakers. They were ignored when they needed help because they did not ask. I was glad I was head room mother and a stay-at-home mom because I saw their struggles. Homework was a nightmare, school functions were worse, but at least I was able to be up there more than usual because I was called to “come help with this”. I volunteered. I spent most of my time at their school. Then I asked myself. WHY?

I wasn’t up there to actually help, although that is what I did. I was up there because I wanted to be involved in their education. I wanted to be around my children. I wanted to watch them learn and see how they were doing. WHY?

Read the last paragraph, again. Now, what better way to do all of that, than to homeschool? No better way. My children struggled, that was the first red flag. My children were ignored, that was the second red flag. Homework was a nightmare and I hated school functions.

So WHY was I worried about being like the schools? Well, one, I am a teacher with a master’s degree and I taught for several years. I had to unschool myself. I had to learn that my children had their own pace and when I tried to push them it failed, not because they were uncooperative, but because they were not ready. It took me three years to figure that out, and I have homeschooled for five. Why?

Homeschooling is a constant learning process for both the children and the parent or parents that are teaching them. It doesn’t matter that I am a teacher. Just because I have a degree doesn’t mean I am the be it all, know it all. I will be the first one to tell you I AM NOT. However, I do love teaching. I love watching my children learn. I love seeing the EUREKA moments, and I love creating their curriculum with them. We listen to each other. We learn from each other. We love each other. We teach each other–yes, my children even teach me! 🙂

Until we meet again,

~Beth

2 Comments

  1. Joanna says:

    It’s hard to “unschool”, because that is what we grow up with and what our kids know, that have been to public school. We are learning to have a flexible routine, even though that sounds like an oxymoron lol. Sometimes we have to take an hour and a half for math when I’d rather take 30 min. Sometimes we do spelling in 15min. I’ m learning to just go at his pace and try not to worry about being “behind.” There is no “behind” in homeschool. “Behind” is our expectations we put on ourselves and our kids. There’s only the ability to move forward, learn from our mistakes, and grow in so many ways.
    Thank you for your blog even though I might not always comment. You are very inspiring and relatable!

    Like

    • Bethanie says:

      Thank you for your comment. You are right. There is no “behind” in homeschool. It took me three years to learn that. Now that I have learned that, it makes our school days so much easier! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

