Love, Laugh, Learn, Teach–Homeschool Diaries

Home » Homeschooling Diaries » Here’s to a New Week

Here’s to a New Week

I don’t know about the rest of you, but as I sit and make my lesson plans for the next week, I ponder things. What will the weather be like–Ooo must do a Science Quest on Weather. Will our day go well–Ooo must pray more. What mood will my kids be in–Ooo Science Health Quest on what affects our moods. Math is on reducing fractions–Ooo need to show how it applies in every day life. Daily Grams on punctuation–Ugh, will they ever understand where to use commas?  Science Quest this week is on Fossils– Ooo, that ties into our history lesson on Dinosaurs (created on the 5th and 6th days, mentioned in the Bible as Behemoths and Leviathans–see the Book of Job–descriptions given). By the way, have I told you that I LOVE our new history curriculum.

So many things go through my mind when I plan my week (and my husband wonders why it takes so long for me to write lesson plans). I tried to explain to him once why it takes so long and he pretty much tuned me out, okay, okay, I get it. All women know that look, whether it is from their husbands or children. I have to laugh and go about my business.

Lesson plans are much more than just writing down a page number we’ll use in the book. We must make sure they will understand what we are doing and why, and have some sort of goal in mind of what we want the outcome to be. It isn’t really hard, but it is a lot of brain room. When we finish a lesson, I make sure they have reached the goal I set, and then that part of my brain has gained a little more room, but it will be filled again within the next seconds. However, I wouldn’t trade it for anything in this world!

Until we meet again,

Beth

Leave a Reply

