Love, Laugh, Learn, Teach–Homeschool Diaries

Home » Children » And So It Happened

And So It Happened

PLEASE NOTE: I HAVE NOTHING AGAINST PUBLIC SCHOOLS OR PUBLIC SCHOOL TEACHERS. I HAVE MANY FRIENDS THAT ARE PUBLIC SCHOOL TEACHERS AND ARE SOME OF THE BEST I HAVE EVER SEEN. 

 

I am a God-loving, Christian-living, Stay-at-home Mom, and Homeschooling teacher. When God is for me, who can be against me, right? Would you believe it to be other Christians? Would you also believe it to be “Christians” within my own church? I would have never thought it to be them. I can honestly say I was hurt. Not for me, but for my kids because they are the ones that heard it. I am a very proud-of-my-children mom. Who isn’t? If we are moms, we are proud of our children.

However, if you upset my children in any way because of what I believe God has called me to do and what they are learning by leaps and bounds and someone has the gall to speak without thinking how it will affect my children. Look out, my level of crazy may rise a few notches.

I am a nice confrontational person. I have seen it to be scarier and more effective than a mean confrontational person. I will give the other a chance to explain. I keep it a quiet friendly so no one, within the building, knows that I am broiling hot under the collar. For the record it could have been a misunderstanding. Also for the record, my trust has been broken.

The direct quote my son repeated to me, was from the mouth of someone I have known for a very long time and it honestly shocked me–“So what does homeschool do for you? Nothing.” The face with which my son, my 13 year-old son, told this to me, was someone who had been broken-hearted.  It upset my daughter too.

My son is not one to be emotional and tears almost came into his eyes (at 13). “Mom, why would he say something like that?” I very matter-of-factly said, “Because he doesn’t understand what homeschool is.”

Homeschool is the education of young minds in ways that the public school system cannot touch. Not because they do not want to, but because they can’t. They have rules and regulations they have to follow. The only rules and regulations homeschoolers have is how we can teach our child or children to their strengths. How we can challenge our children. How we can teach them in the way they learn. Yes, we have an advantage, a huge advantage. We can stay on something longer until they grasp the concept. We learn with our children. We become closer to our children. Our children become closer to one another. The friends they have within their homeschool group have parents whose morals and values match ours. Who doesn’t want that for their children?

Rant over. The only thing I ask of those of you that are not on board with the whole homeschooling concept– Think before you speak. You never know who is listening, even though they may not seem to be. Remember this one thing: We do not have to be in the norm. That’s why we chose to homeschool to begin with. The norm is not for everyone.

Until we meet again,

Beth

Leave a Reply

