Love, Laugh, Learn, Teach–Homeschool Diaries

Home » Children » Finally–Last Year’s Last Chapter Book is Finished

Finally–Last Year’s Last Chapter Book is Finished

Wow, I never thought we would finish it. Although it is not really a part of the daily lessons, it is just a way to get my children to see the fun of READING. I LOVE READING. I want my children to love it too. My daughter loves it and she is the one that has the hardest time reading, but it thrills me to no end that she overcomes this and enjoys reading almost as much as I do. My son–has really no problem with reading–he just won’t do it on his own. GRRR.

It is so funny to me how different my daughter’s and son’s personalities are. I knew they wouldn’t be the same, but I thought at least they would like some of the same things. NOT A CHANCE. Oh well. That is fine with me. They are both very independent personalities and I couldn’t ask for better children.

So, I said all of this, to say this. In order to get my son to read, I have to have a list of books for them to choose from that we read together in school. It is a mixture of classics and modern-day books, examples:  Harry Potter Books, Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, Merlin Saga, Treasure Island, How to Train Your Dragon, Huckleberry Finn, The Outsiders, Little House Books (Yes, I make my son read them too. It is a perfect example of the pioneers that started our great land.) Percy Jackson and the Olympians Series is one of my favorites, and we have Shakespeare too. It is a mixed bag, but one that I think will introduce them to all kinds of genres of books.

So since my daughter picked out the last book we read, it was my son’s turn to pick the next one. He chose Charlie and the Chocolate Factory. We have also read James and the Giant Peach. I think my son likes more sci-fi, fantasy, and non-fiction. It fits with his personality, which is fine with me. So on to Charlie and Chocolate Factory and the hope that my son will develop a love for reading. We’ll see!

Happy Trails to you, until we meet again.

~Beth                                                                    

                       Charlie and the Chocolate Factory

6 Comments

  1. trinitygrau says:

    This is a great idea (one that my Mom doesn’t follow). We are all avid readers, but like you said, our similarities end there. I am the closest to my Mom’s tastes. I enjoy any and every as long as it is written well.
    The mixed basket is a great idea, like I said, even if we don’t do it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. trinitygrau says:

    P.S. You are a homeschooler? This is so coincidental! So are we!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

